Covid-19: Ten new clusters detected on Wednesday (April 7)

PETALING JAYA: Ten new Covid-19 clusters have been detected on Wednesday (April 7), including a cluster involving imported cases in Johor.

Read more here: Covid-19: 1,139 new cases, four fatalities bring death toll to 1,304

Dubbed the Highline cluster, there were five imported cases that were found positive following a sign-off screening on April 5.

The cluster, which is located in the Kota Tinggi district in Johor, involved crew members of a vessel that docked in Pengerang.

In his daily update, Health director-general Tan Sri Dr Noor Hisham Abdullah said another six of the new clusters involved workplace transmissions.

Two clusters involved community transmissions, while one is linked to a detention centre in Johor.

The Tembok Choh Dua cluster involves a detention centre in Jalan Ulu Choh-Pontian in Johor, with 10 cases linked to it.

The Jalan Simpang Balak cluster is located in Hulu Langat, Selangor and involves workers at a company in Jalan Simpang Balak, Kajang.

To date, 20 cases have been detected.

The Jalan Keretapi cluster involves the Klang and Kuala Selangor districts in Selangor and has 81 cases to date.

It involves workers at a factory in Jalan Keretapi Lama, Kampung Perepat, Kapar in Klang.

The Sungai Kluang Empat cluster is located in Penang, involving workers at a factory in the Bayan Lepas Free Industrial Zone.

To date, 33 cases have been detected.

The Jalan Padang Benggali cluster is located in Seberang Perai Utara district in Penang, with 42 cases found positive.

It was detected following a targeted screening of factory workers in Jalan Padang Benggali in Butterworth.

The Jalan Bangunan Kerajaan cluster involves the Beluru and Miri districts in Sarawak.

It has 37 cases and involves staff members at a public administrative centre in Beluru.

The Persiaran Indahpura Utama cluster involves the Kulai, Johor Baru and Batu Pahat districts in Johor.

It has 11 cases and involves workers at a services company in Kulai.

The Sungai Kawi cluster involves the Meradong and Sibu districts in Sarawak.

It is spread by community transmission and to date, 127 cases have been found positive.

The Jalan Persiaran Putri cluster has 15 cases and was detected following a social event.

It involved the districts of Kulai, Kota Tinggi, Muar and Kluang in Johor.

Dr Noor Hisham also said that 64 existing clusters recorded new Covid-19 cases, while another 10 clusters had ended.

This brings the number of active clusters in the country to 354.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *